Is Fat Sin? Part 2

Posted: July 15, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I ended my post yesterday with the following question: “What are the spiritual implications of neglecting one’s body (and at times abusing it)?

Four things (not necessarily in order of importance) came to my mind rather quickly as I considered the above question: (1) Health, (2) Disrespect, (3) Example and (4) Sin.

Each one of these four points quickly became points of conviction in my life. Points of conviction placed in my heart by the Holy Spirit. Points that I realized could no longer be ignored. God was telling me to stop blaming my age, the fact that I spend much of my day at a desk, my slowing metabolism, and a whole host of others things as excuses. It was time to stop just acknowledging my convictions but to start living them out. The message was a very clear one in my heart: Jon, stop just preaching about discipline…start exemplifying it. In other words, practice what you preach and stop being a hypocrite.

The convictions that God placed on my heart were so convicting that I have been forced to dramatically change several things in my life over the last several months. Types of food I eat, types of food I don’t eat, how much food I eat, things I will drink, disciplining myself in various kinds of exercise were all changes that have occurred.

As a disclaimer, I wish to state that I am fully aware that some face health problems that cause weight gain and have legitimate things in their lives that affect their bodies in a very real way that they cannot help. I am not writing about those who struggle with that. Rather, I wish to share the work that God has done in my heart and in turn hope that it will be a blessing to others. I am writing about me; not you.

My next four posts will examine the spiritual implications of not taking care of my body: Health, Disrespect, Example and Sin. My prayer is that it will be a blessing to you but at the same be a means to hold me accountable as I seek to live a life that is pleasing to my Savior.

20140715-144631.jpg

Leave a Reply

