Is Fat Sin? (Part 1)

Posted: July 14, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Recently God convicted me in a very real way that I needed to change my ways. He revealed to me that some of my lifestyle choices were harming me and in turn could harm those He had called me to lead. He showed me that food was a problem.

In case you are wondering, the answer is no! I am not morbidly obese. However, I stood on the scale four months ago and saw a number that scared me. I have slowly been putting on weight for the last ten years and the weight is directly tied with my own personal discipline. Discipline in regards to food choice, food portion and exercise.

As a pastor, I find myself sitting in a chair quite often. I sit to study. I sit to counsel. I sit to email. I sit to read. I sit to talk on the phone. I sit to eat. Then Sunday comes, I stand up in front of the congregation and preach discipline. Yet all the while, clearly demonstrating to those who listen, by my growing gut, that I had not been practicing discipline in my own life.

So the question that started to plague my mind was this: what are the spiritual implications of neglecting one’s body (and at times abusing it)?

20140714-132137.jpg

Comments
  1. Greg Stanton says:

    It’s nice yer photo shows you standin’ next to a REAL fat man.:-)

    Thank you,

    Greg Stanton

    StantonSigns.com

    567 East Ave. Medina, NY 14103

    585.798.9101

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stanton-Signs/263847773626001?sk=wall

    Proverbs 14:34 God-devotion makes a country strong; God-avoidance leaves people weak.

    _____

    Like

  2. Greg Stanton says:

    http://www.skinnymom.com/2014/07/13/16-moves-to-get-rid-of-your-mommy-muffin /

    🙂

    Thank you,

    Greg Stanton

    StantonSigns.com

    567 East Ave. Medina, NY 14103

    585.798.9101

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stanton-Signs/263847773626001?sk=wall

    Proverbs 14:34 God-devotion makes a country strong; God-avoidance leaves people weak.

    _____

    Like

  3. Robin Norse says:

    This is why God convicted me to join Firth Place over twenty years ago and then to teach the program to others.

    Like

  4. pastor242 says:

    Reblogged this on Jon Goodwin's Blog and commented:

    Part 1: Is Fat Sin?

    Like

Leave a Reply

