If You Play with Fire…You Will Get Burned…

Posted: September 5, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

If you kiss an alligator you will die. If you play in traffic you will probably get hit by a car. If you eat at the buffet everyday then you will become obese. If you break into my house you will get shot. If you shave your head you will be bald. If you refuse to go to school then you will fail. If you challenge me to tetris you will lose. If you drive your mom’s minivan and live in a small farm town, you are not gangster. If you jump into the bear exhibit at the zoo, you will get mauled. If I take up skateboarding, I will hurt myself. If you come to my house and disrespect my wife, I will ask you to leave. What goes up, must come down.

What am I talking about: Cause and effect. We understand in every area of our lives that we are responsible for our actions. If I stop showing up for work then I will get fired. If I drive 90mph everywhere I go then I will lose my license.

I make my choices and then my choices make me. The same is true when it comes to our spiritual walk. Yet we often seem to feel that God owes us something. We will declare with our lips, “God I love you”. Then we will choose to live in and sin and ask, “God why do you feel so far away”. Or we will neglect fellowshipping at church, reading the Word or spending time and prayer and say “why does my faith feel so dead”. Why is there confusion?

I am interested to hear what your feelings are? Can you think of any contingent promises in Scripture?

Leave a Reply

