If You Don’t Like My Kids, Get Out Of My House!

Posted: December 5, 2011 in Lessons From Scripture, Thoughts, Uncategorized

MY KIDS

I am the proud father of three beautiful children.  Kaitlyn is 7, Matthew is 5, and my youngest just turned three.  It is hard to describe the depth of love I have for these three kids.  I don’t think I could adequately describe it on paper.  Anything that I could say, would fall short.  They are part of me.  They affect my every decision.  My wife and I have sacrificed much for our kids:  time, money, sleep, and at times sanity.

My wife has a full time job.  She stays at home with our kids and invests into them every day.  She and I choose to have less so that our kids can have more.  It isn’t as though she is unqualified to pursue work outside the home.  It is quite the opposite.  Jen has a professional degree from a good college.  She is a very gifted person who could quite easily thrive in the work force.  Yet together we have chosen to invest more into our children and less in our bank account.

We have put alot of time, investments, prayer, sweat and tears into our kids.  Why?  They are our kids.  Don’t mess with my kids unless you want me to mess with you.  I am protective and have no problem letting you know if I do not appreciate the way you talk to them or deal with them.

GOD’S KIDS

The apostle John writes in John 1.12a “But as many as received Him (Jesus), to them He gave the right to become children of God.”

Paul writes in Romans 12.10a “Be devoted to one another in brotherly love.”

If you are a believer in Christ and don’t like God’s kids then guess what: you aren’t as spiritual as you think you are.  I have to believe that God does not appreciate people raking His kids over coals.  He does not appreciate malicious backbiting when it involves His children.  He does not appreciate lack of respect when it comes to His kids.

You see, if you don’t like my kids, you aren’t as close to me as you think.  If you come over to my house and insult my kids, degrade my kids and treat them poorly you will quickly find yourself uninvited from my property.  I will not allow you or anyone else to turn my children’s home into a place of fear.  I will defend and protect them at all cost.

So here is the simple truth: if you want a right relationship with God, you better learn how to love His kids.  You can’t hate my kids and have a good relationship with me.  What makes you think that you can do that to God’s kids?

Comments
  1. Rachel Smith says:

    I love this! This is a great way to talk about this subject.

    Like

  2. Robin Morse says:

    I love it!

    Like

  3. I congratulate your wife on finding a way to stay home with your kids. It is not easy, especially financially and I am sure things are tight for Christmas just like us. It’s a sacrifice we are willing to make.
    I appreciate this article. My sister and I grew up as pastor’s kids and there were people in one of the churches that would treat us terrible. They didn’t have God’s love in their hearts.

    Like

  4. Paul Goodwin says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Thanks for the reminder, because God does not take His role as Father lightly. We should truly consider our relationships with in His family as sacred. I we can’t remember that He loves them, we must not consider His love very highly. 1 John 1:5 “and the massage is this, God is light and in Him there is no darkness at all.” Praise His Holy Name!

    Like

  5. Paul Goodwin says:

    You are so right! I love your kids ….and God’s kids (most of the time). When I have problems with loving God’s kids, it is time for me to confess to God my pride or whatever else gets in the way of that love for them. Great blog!

    Like

  6. pastor242 says:

    Reblogged this on Jon Goodwin's Blog and commented:

    I was considering the family of God and recalled this post that I wrote quite some time ago…

    Like

  7. Katie burch says:

    Amen to this!

    Like

  8. Tara Poss says:

    Made me laugh. And it is all true. I like what you wrote

    Like

Leave a Reply

