George Washington Carver By: John Perry

Posted: September 5, 2011 in Book Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

George Washington Carver by John Perry is unlike your typical biography.  I jumped into this book fully expecting to find a long narrative about how Dr. Carver was rescued after being kidnapped as a baby and a list of his peanut inventions.  Instead I learned a lot about a man that I already thought I knew about.

John Perry does a fantastic job highlighting the many relationships of George Washington Carver.  He also does a great job of highlighting  Carver’s inner demons and personal battles. 

One of the things that readers will walk away from this book with is the feeling that one of Carver’s biggest attribute is his ability to stick with his commitments.  He was a man of great character and when it came to many other men during his day, he was a man among boys.

Perry does a great job painting realistic view of the man many refer to as the peanut man.  He does not shy from sharing Carver’s shortcomings or successes.  I highly recommend this book.  Even if you think you know who Carver is, you will learn a lot more from this great little book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Leave a Reply

