Some Thoughts on Being a Student of God’s Word

Posted: August 22, 2011 in Lessons From Scripture
Tags: ,

Being a student means that studying is required, there will be homework and there will also be tests!  Unfortunately, to many students don’t care if they don’t do well on the test, they don’t care about homework and they certainly don’t want to study.  What do they want?  They want a passing grade at the end of the semester. 

I was rewarded in college when I was a good student.  I got good grades and even a certificate stating I was on the Dean’s List.  Unfortunately in my early years I was also rewarded for being a bad student.  The reward: bad grades and frustrated teachers who thought I was a slacker.  I did not get any A’s, I did not get any certificate’s from the Dean’s office and I had to retake some of my classes.

Unfortunately for many Christians, they fall into the bad student category.  Yet at the same time, they want to experience the blessings of being a good student.  Well guess what; the Chrstian walk does not work that way.  Many of life’s lessons are repeated due to failure, blessings are not given and they become quickly frustrated and ashamed of life’s poor choices. 

The question I pose today to you and I is this: which student are you? A you a good student or a bad student?  Do you do just enough to get by?  Do you do nothing and wait for God’s blessings? Or do you work your tail off?  God calls us to work.

2 Timothy 2.15 “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.”

Leave a Reply

