The Chicken and The Pig

Posted: February 17, 2011 in Life Lessons, Thoughts, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

I recently read a short narrative about a pick and a chicken who were walking by a church where a gala charity event was taking place. Getting caught up in the spirit, the pig suggested to the chicken that they each make a contribution.

“Good idea!” the chicken cried. “Let’s offer them ham and eggs!”
“Not so fast said the pig. “For you, that’s a contribution. For me, it’s a total commitment.”

While this story is meant to be humorous I believe the two characters often represent us. Some days I am a chicken while other days I’m the pig.

I for one am glad that my Savior chose total commitment. He did not have to die on the cross. After all, Jesus had already made a contribution to mankind. He served the world better than anyone before Him. He was recognized by many as a great teacher who helped better their lives. Yet that was not enough.

Anyone can make a little contribution. Yet it takes a person of true character to make a commitment. When I got married to my wife I made a commitment. I did not want to make a five year contribution to her. I committed to her for life; for better or for worse. We have experienced both but our commitment has grown stronger as a result.

So let me ask you, when it comes to your relationship to Christ are you a chicken or a pig?

I for one find it humorous that the story implies those who fail to commit are chickens!

“Choose for yourselves today whom you will serve AND GO ALL OUT!” Joshua 24.25a (Capitalized words were added by me)

Comments
  1. Robin Morse says:

    I love the analogy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

